67 Things Every Atlantan Must Do!

February 18, 2010

A couple of weeks ago, a friend mentioned a restaurant/ pub located in downtown Decatur.  When she described it to me, she told me that it was one of the 67 things to do in Atlanta according to Atlanta Magazine. I was intrigued.  Hmmmmm…67 things to do in the city that I only grew up a little more than an hour from.  What have I been missing out on here?????? 

So, I grabbed a copy of The Atlanta Magazine and decided I want to try to do the things on “the list.”  I don’t want to go all “Julie & Julia” here, but I do think that it would be fun to complete the list and write about it.  There are things on the list that I’ve done many times before like #34, “On July 4, run the Peachtree Road Race…” or #63 “Eat global at Your Dekalb Farmer’s Market.”  There are other activities that I have done, but without the twist that the magazine added, such as #1″Climb Stone Mountain in the dark.”  I have trekked to the top of Stone Mountain but never in the dark.  Or, take #57, “Taste the Beverly- and other exotic drinks at the World of Coca-Cola.”  I toured the Coke Museum located in Atlanta many times as a teenager, but they have since built a new facility, so I’ve never actually been to this particular World of Coke. 

There are plenty of things on the list that have been on my wishlist of things to do for a long time like #58, “Get your pour on at SweetWater,” a local brewery.  And, there are other things on the list that probably won’t happen for me, like #5 “Drink a PBR at the Clermont Lounge” or #40 “Dress Yourself (like a gentleman).”

As much as possible we will do these things as a family or at least The Man and I will try them out.  Again, in an effort not to get all Julie & Julia, I am not putting any time limit here either.  I thought we would shoot for the next year, but there are events listed in the article that have already occurred this calendar year.  So, stay tuned as I journey through this list.  It should be fun (for me at least), and I’ll try to keep you posted as to the things you should definitely try for yourself or the things that you should mark off of your list of things to do in Atlanta.

In joy, Troye

2 Responses to “67 Things Every Atlantan Must Do!”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Looking forward to following your journey. Assuming things start looking up, we’d love to join you in an adventure or two.


Leave a Reply

